Opium Season: A Year On The Afghan Frontier

By: Hafvenstein, Joel

Price: $15.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Good


1599211319 1st edition, later printing. Good, hardcover binding with dust jacket. Light to moderate wear to corners and edges, clean text, may contain previous owner?s signature, remainder mark, sticker/residue, or other minor aesthetic flaws. Please inquire for additional details. Last Word Books & Press is an Infamous Independent Bookstore and Print Shop located in Olympia, Washington.


Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item


OPIUM SEASON is the story of a young American working on the brutal fault line where the war on terror meets the war on drugs. Joel Hafvenstein didn't know what he was getting into when he signed up for a year in Afghanistan's rugged Helmand province, the heart of the country's opium trade. He was running an American-funded aid program with two goals: to help tens of thousands of opium poppy farmers make a legal living, and to win hearts and minds away from the former Taliban government.The author and his friends were soon caught up in the deadly intrigues of Helmand'sdrug trafficking warlords. He found himself dodging Taliban in poppy-filled mountain ravines and arguing with murderous, AK-47 toting bandits in police uniform. He saw both the stark beauty and the terrible cruelty that Afghans live with every day. At the height of his team's success, the Taliban attacked, killing his colleagues and destroying their work. These ambushes heralded a Taliban resurgence across the country; they also showed the weaknesses in America's strategy that continue to undermine every American accomplishment in Afghanistan.This is a riveting story of intrigue, adventure, and tragedy at the far edge of the world. In the tradition of The Places In Between and The Kite Runner, OPIUM SEASON describes the odyssey of an American chasing a seemingly impossible goal in the midst of chaos. It will draw national attention from the media and from book readers hungry to understand this shattered, beautiful country and its deeply divided people.

Title: Opium Season: A Year On The Afghan Frontier

Author Name: Hafvenstein, Joel

Categories: Afghanistan,

Publisher: Lyons Press:

ISBN Number: 1599211319

ISBN Number 13: 9781599211312

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Good

Seller ID: SKU20151080