Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
Opium Season: A Year On The Afghan Frontier, Hafvenstein, Joel

Author Name    Hafvenstein, Joel

Title   Opium Season: A Year On The Afghan Frontier

Binding   Hardcover

Book Condition   Good

Publisher    Lyons Press

ISBN Number    1599211319 / 9781599211312

Seller ID   SKU20151080

1599211319 1st edition, later printing. Good, hardcover binding with dust jacket. Light to moderate wear to corners and edges, clean text, may contain previous owner?s signature, remainder mark, sticker/residue, or other minor aesthetic flaws. Please inquire for additional details. Last Word Books & Press is an Infamous Independent Bookstore and Print Shop located in Olympia, Washington.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

OPIUM SEASON is the story of a young American working on the brutal fault line where the war on terror meets the war on drugs. Joel Hafvenstein didn?t know what he was getting into when he signed up for a year in Afghanistan's rugged Helmand province, the heart of the country's opium trade. He was running an American-funded aid program with two goals: to help tens of thousands of opium poppy farmers make a legal living, and to win hearts and minds away from the former Taliban government.
The author and his friends were soon caught up in the deadly intrigues of Helmand'sdrug trafficking warlords. He found himself dodging Taliban in poppy-filled mountain ravines and arguing with murderous, AK-47 toting bandits in police uniform. He saw both the stark beauty and the terrible cruelty that Afghans live with every day. At the height of his team's success, the Taliban attacked, killing his colleagues and destroying their work. These ambushes heralded a Taliban resurgence across the country; they also showed the weaknesses in America's strategy that continue to undermine every American accomplishment in Afghanistan.
This is a riveting story of intrigue, adventure, and tragedy at the far edge of the world. In the tradition of "The Places In Between" and "The Kite Runner," OPIUM SEASON describes the odyssey of an American chasing a seemingly impossible goal in the midst of chaos. It will draw national attention from the media and from book readers hungry to understand this shattered, beautiful country and its deeply divided people.

Price = 15.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
The Sun, The Genome, and The Internet: Tools of Scientific Revolutions (New York Public Library Lectures in Humanities), Dyson, Freeman J.
The Sun, The Genome, and The Internet: Tools of Scientific Revolutions (New York Public Library Lectures in Humanities)
Dyson, Freeman J.
12.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Total guitar
Burrows, Terry
15.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Vampire Diaries - The Return: Nightfall, Smith, L. J.
The Vampire Diaries - The Return: Nightfall
Smith, L. J.
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Honk and Holler Opening Soon, Letts, Billie
The Honk and Holler Opening Soon
Letts, Billie
25.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home, Sunee, Kim
Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home
Sunee, Kim
16.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Food Politics: How the Food Industry Influences Nutrition and Health (California Studies in Food and Culture), Nestle, Marion
Food Politics: How the Food Industry Influences Nutrition and Health (California Studies in Food and Culture)
Nestle, Marion
20.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Venus Revealed: A New Look Below The Clouds Of Our Mysteriious Twin Planet, Grinspoon, David H.
Venus Revealed: A New Look Below The Clouds Of Our Mysteriious Twin Planet
Grinspoon, David H.
20.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

1001 Things Everyone Should Know About Science
Trefil, James
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

A School In American Culture
Mead, M
25.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Science Under Siege: Balancing Technology and the Environment
Fumento, Michael
12.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Road to Omaha
Ludlum, Robert
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Storyteller
Vargas Llosa, Mario
20.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to [email protected]
Copyright©2019. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie