Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
The Secret Life of Bees, Kidd, Sue Monk
Stock Image -May Not Reflect Actual Item

Author Name    Kidd, Sue Monk

Title   The Secret Life of Bees

Binding   PAPERBACK

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Penguin Books

ISBN Number    0142001740 / 9780142001745

Seller ID   SKU9133792

0142001740 Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners. Trade paperback binding. Support Last Word Books & Press and independent booksellers.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014
"The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth Hoffman's "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Price = 8.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
The Complete Idiot's Guide to World Religions, 3rd Edition, Toropov, Brandon; Buckles, Father Luke
The Complete Idiot's Guide to World Religions, 3rd Edition
Toropov, Brandon; Buckles, Father Luke
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

How to Lose Your Mind With Lights On, Sampsell, Kevin
How to Lose Your Mind With Lights On
Sampsell, Kevin
40.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium Series), Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium Series)
Stieg Larsson
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Oblivion
Hart, Josephine
12.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls (Ballantine Reader's Circle)
Mary Pipher
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Best Defense: True Stories of Intended Victims Who Defended Themselves with a Firearm, Waters, Robert A.
The Best Defense: True Stories of Intended Victims Who Defended Themselves with a Firearm
Waters, Robert A.
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Out Stealing Horses: A Novel, Petterson, Per
Out Stealing Horses: A Novel
Petterson, Per
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Four Mothers: A Novel, Horn, Shifra
Four Mothers: A Novel
Horn, Shifra
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Ashes and Diamonds, Andrzejewski, Jerzy
Ashes and Diamonds
Andrzejewski, Jerzy
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Weather Makers: How Man Is Changing the Climate and What It Means for Life on Earth, Flannery, Tim
The Weather Makers: How Man Is Changing the Climate and What It Means for Life on Earth
Flannery, Tim
9.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Riverhouse Stories: How Pubah S. Queen and Lazy LaRue Save the World
Andrea Carlisle
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Full Cupboard of Life (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Book 5), McCall Smith, Alexander
The Full Cupboard of Life (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Book 5)
McCall Smith, Alexander
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to lastwordbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie