Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
The Secret Life of Bees, Kidd, Sue Monk
Stock Image -May Not Reflect Actual Item

Author Name    Kidd, Sue Monk

Title   The Secret Life of Bees

Binding   PAPERBACK

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Penguin Books

ISBN Number    0142001740 / 9780142001745

Seller ID   SKU9133792

0142001740 Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners. Trade paperback binding. Support Last Word Books & Press and independent booksellers.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014
"The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth Hoffman's "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Price = 8.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
It Is Well with My Soul: The Extraordinary Life of a 106-Year-Old Woman, Johnson, Ella Mae Cheeks; Mulcahy, Patricia
It Is Well with My Soul: The Extraordinary Life of a 106-Year-Old Woman
Johnson, Ella Mae Cheeks; Mulcahy, Patricia
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Around the Cragged Hill: A Personal and Political Philosophy, Kennan, George F.
Around the Cragged Hill: A Personal and Political Philosophy
Kennan, George F.
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Companero: The Life and Death of Che Guevara, Jorge G. Castaneda
Companero: The Life and Death of Che Guevara
Jorge G. Castaneda
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Blue Gold: The Fight to Stop the Corporate Theft of the World's Water, Barlow, Maude; Clarke, Tony
Blue Gold: The Fight to Stop the Corporate Theft of the World's Water
Barlow, Maude; Clarke, Tony
9.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country, Barnes, Kim
In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country
Barnes, Kim
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Portrait of an Addict as a Young Man: A Memoir, Clegg, Bill
Portrait of an Addict as a Young Man: A Memoir
Clegg, Bill
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Yellow Earth: A Film by Chen Kaige, with a Complete Translation of the Filmscript
McDougall, Bonnie S.
50.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Hollywood Exile, or How I Learned to Love the Blacklist (Texas Film and Media Studies Series), Gordon, Bernard
Hollywood Exile, or How I Learned to Love the Blacklist (Texas Film and Media Studies Series)
Gordon, Bernard
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Welcome to the Terrordome: The Pain, Politics and Promise of Sports, Zirin, Dave
Welcome to the Terrordome: The Pain, Politics and Promise of Sports
Zirin, Dave
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Expo 2001
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Wolf Shall Dwell with the Lamb, Law, Eric
The Wolf Shall Dwell with the Lamb
Law, Eric
9.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Secret of the Fortune Wookie: An Origame Yoda Book
Tom Angleberger
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to lastwordbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie