Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
The Secret Life of Bees, Kidd, Sue Monk
Stock Image -May Not Reflect Actual Item

Author Name    Kidd, Sue Monk

Title   The Secret Life of Bees

Binding   PAPERBACK

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Penguin Books

ISBN Number    0142001740 / 9780142001745

Seller ID   SKU9133792

0142001740 Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners. Trade paperback binding. Support Last Word Books & Press and independent booksellers.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014
"The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth Hoffman's "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Price = 8.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
Johnny Mad Dog: A Novel
Emmanuel Dongala
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Middle Path Cookbook: A Vegetarian Awakening
Disney, Jay
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Barrows, Annie; Shaffer, Mary Ann
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Barrows, Annie; Shaffer, Mary Ann
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Eniac: The Triumphs and Tragedies of the World's First Computer
McCartney, Scott
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Life Lit by Some Large Vision: Selected Speeches and Writings, Davis, Ossie
Life Lit by Some Large Vision: Selected Speeches and Writings
Davis, Ossie
9.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Exit: The Endings That Set Us Free, Lawrence-Lightfoot, Sara
Exit: The Endings That Set Us Free
Lawrence-Lightfoot, Sara
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Pleneurethics: A New Concept in Healing Volume VI
20.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The way to peace and happiness
Rahula
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Dolphin Conferences, Elephant Midwives, and Other Astonishing Facts About Animals, Warren D. Thomas; Daniel Kaufman
Dolphin Conferences, Elephant Midwives, and Other Astonishing Facts About Animals
Warren D. Thomas; Daniel Kaufman
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Savoring Seattle
Savoring Seattle
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Chance and Change: Ecology for Conservationists, Drury, William Holland
Chance and Change: Ecology for Conservationists
Drury, William Holland
15.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Dancing Hut, Michael Tresca
The Dancing Hut
Michael Tresca
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to lastwordbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie