Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
The Secret Life of Bees, Kidd, Sue Monk
Stock Image -May Not Reflect Actual Item

Author Name    Kidd, Sue Monk

Title   The Secret Life of Bees

Binding   PAPERBACK

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Penguin Books

ISBN Number    0142001740 / 9780142001745

Seller ID   SKU9133792

0142001740 Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners. Trade paperback binding. Support Last Word Books & Press and independent booksellers.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014
"The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth Hoffman's "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Price = 8.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
Movies: A Crash Course (Crash Course (Watson-Guptill))
Staunton, Terry
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Voyages Out 2: Lesbian Short Fiction (Voyages Out, Vol 2) (Bk. 2)
Blackwomon, Julie; Caspers, Nona
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Tasting Life Twice: Literary Lesbian Fiction by New American Writers
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Rails-to-Trails Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshir (Rails-to-Trails Series)
Mascott, Cynthia
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

How to Make the World a Better Place for Gays & Lesbians, Una Fahy
How to Make the World a Better Place for Gays & Lesbians
Una Fahy
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

AMC River Guide: Massachusetts/Connecticut/Rhode Island, 3rd
Appalachian Mountain Club Books
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

A Dark Dividing, Rayne, Sarah
A Dark Dividing
Rayne, Sarah
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Homeland Insecurity: The Onion Complete News Archives, Volume 17 (Onion Ad Nauseam), Onion Editors
Homeland Insecurity: The Onion Complete News Archives, Volume 17 (Onion Ad Nauseam)
Onion Editors
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Art of the Trout Fly
Dunham, Judith
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

GRAPHIS 310: JULY / AUGUST 1997 [ International Magazine of Design and Communication ]
17.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Samoan Planters: Tradition and Economic Development in Polynesia (Case Studies in Cultural Anthropology)
OżMeara, Tim
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Weaving in the Women (1st Ed)
Whaley, Elizabeth G
8.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to lastwordbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie