Dig Through Our Books

Title
Author
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
Gift Cards
Checkout a Gift Card


 




Bookmark and Share




 
Browse By Category

View Other Categories
 
 
 
The Secret Life of Bees, Kidd, Sue Monk
Stock Image -May Not Reflect Actual Item

Author Name    Kidd, Sue Monk

Title   The Secret Life of Bees

Binding   PAPERBACK

Book Condition   Very Good

Publisher    Penguin Books

ISBN Number    0142001740 / 9780142001745

Seller ID   SKU9133792

0142001740 Very Good. Light shelf wear to covers/corners. Trade paperback binding. Support Last Word Books & Press and independent booksellers.

Stock Description, May Not Reflect Item

The multimillion-copy-bestselling first novel by the author of "The Invention of Wings," coming from Viking in January 2014
"The Secret Life of Bees" was a "New York Times" bestseller for more than two and a half years, a "Good Morning America" "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964, "The Secret Life of Bees" will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's "The Help" and Beth Hoffman's "Saving CeeCee Honeycutt," and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Price = 8.00 USD


Related items brought to you by the miracles of modern technology:
Exhibits (Design in Motion Series)
Konikow, Robert B.
5.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Naked in the Woods: Joseph Knowles and the Legacy of Frontier Fakery, Motavalli, Jim
Naked in the Woods: Joseph Knowles and the Legacy of Frontier Fakery
Motavalli, Jim
15.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Teaching Real Writing: Additional Resources
Susan Anker; Eddye S. Gallagher
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Nuclear Waste Primer: The League of Women Voters Education Fund, League of Women Voters
The Nuclear Waste Primer: The League of Women Voters Education Fund
League of Women Voters
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective, Sobol, Donald J.
Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective
Sobol, Donald J.
5.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Bud, Not Buddy, Curtis, Christopher Paul
Bud, Not Buddy
Curtis, Christopher Paul
4.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Hummingbird Book: The Complete Guide to Attracting, Identifying, and Enjoying Hummingbirds, Donald Stokes; Lillian Stokes
The Hummingbird Book: The Complete Guide to Attracting, Identifying, and Enjoying Hummingbirds
Donald Stokes; Lillian Stokes
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Corelli's Mandolin: A Novel, de Bernieres, Louis
Corelli's Mandolin: A Novel
de Bernieres, Louis
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Savage City: Race, Murder, and a Generation on the Edge, English, T. J.
The Savage City: Race, Murder, and a Generation on the Edge
English, T. J.
10.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

The Quality of Life Report
daum, meghan
5.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Until the Real Thing Comes Along (Ballantine Reader's Circle), Elizabeth Berg
Until the Real Thing Comes Along (Ballantine Reader's Circle)
Elizabeth Berg
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

Life as We Knew It, Pfeffer, Susan Beth
Life as We Knew It
Pfeffer, Susan Beth
6.00 USD
Add to Book Bag

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to lastwordbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie